Category Archives: Police Academy

Police Officer Requirements in WA

police-training-WA

The crime statistics in Washington State shows a downward trend based on the report obtained covering the 11 years when violent crime was increasing and property crime was decreasing. According to this report, the crime rate in Washington for 2014 is expected to be lower compared to that of 2010. But for this to be possible, the police force must still perform their vital role in the keeping of the peace in every part of the state.

Washington State Law Enforcement Certification Standards

To maintain the excellent reputation of the police departments in Washington State aspiring applicants must meet certain requirements before they can be accepted in the police academy. However, keep in mind that apart from the police academy requirements in Washington State which we have mentioned below, the different police departments have additional requirements as well.

The most basic requirements are as follows:

  • Must be a citizen of the United States
  • Must be 19 ½ years old to apply
  • Must have a valid, non-probationary, non-restricted Washington State driver’s license
  • Must have a high school diploma or the equivalent from an accredited school
  • Must pass a written exam
  • Must pass a polygraph test
  • Must pass a thorough background check
  • Must pass a departmental medical examination
  • Must be free from the use of narcotics and other controlled substances
  • Must pass a psychological examination

Physical Fitness Standards

You will also undergo physical fitness test standards to see if you are able to handle the rigors of a police officer. The nature of this work requires you to demonstrate the aptitude to meet the minimum requirements as they pertain to your physical capabilities.

Washington State is using the Cooper Institute Physical Fitness Test and Norms for Law Enforcement Standards. In this test, you will be required to:

  1. Perform the one minute push up test, followed by a rest period.
  2. Perform the one minute sit up test, followed by a rest period.
  3. Do a cardio warm up for 2 to 3 minutes, and them perform a 1.5 mile run.

Seattle Police Department

The starting salary of a police officer in this department is $47,334. But aside from the basic requirements of the state, the Seattle Police Department also expects you to fulfill certain qualifications before you are allowed to enter the service.

  • Must pass the Criminal Justice Training Commission Fitness Ability Test
  • Must have no adult felony conviction
  • Must not have any misdemeanor while employed in a criminal justice and/or law enforcement capacity.
  • Must have no domestic violence conviction
  • If coming from the military, must have been discharged under honorable conditions
  • Must have a good driving record, no DWI (driving while intoxicated), reckless and hit and run driving, and no suspension of driver’s license within 5 years of the date of application

You can get more information on these requirements at www.seattle.gov/police/jobs/hiring.

Spokane Police Department

If you are accepted as a police officer in this department, you will have an average salary of $45,000. However, aside from the state requirements, you will have to satisfy the following requirements:

If you want more details, you need to visit https://beta.spokanecity.org/police/.

Tacoma Police Department

A police officer in this department gets an average annual salary of $54,355. That is more than what other PDs are giving their officers. But first, you must undergo their recruitment process which consists of the following:

  • Application process – where you are required to apply with the Tacoma Police Department online. Their HR department will screen your applications if you meet the qualifications.
  • Examination process – you will undergo a series of exams which include an initial Personal History Questionnaire, and a Physical Ability Test (PAT). If you pass the PAT test, you will be invited to take a written exam the following day.

For more details about their recruitment process, you can visit www.cityoftacoma.org.

Vancouver Police Department

Another PD that you may want to consider is the Vancouver Police Department where the starting salary of a police officer is $4,928 per month. But aside from the state qualifications, you also need to satisfy the following requirements:

You can get more details at http://www.cityofvancouver.us/police/page/police-careers-entry-level-police-officer.

Bellevue Police Department

If you will choose to apply with this PD, you will receive an average salary of $39,000 if accepted. However, there are other requirements that you must fulfill, aside from that required by the state of Washington.

  • Provide proof of 90 quarter hours of 60 semester hours from an accredited college or minimum of 3 years experience as a full time commissioned Police Officer or a minimum of 3 years active duty military experience with honorable discharge or military reserve with over 180 days of continuous activation by presidential order.
  • Must pass a background examination that includes a complete criminal records check, a psychological exam and a polygraph exam
  • Must have vision correctable to 20/20 in the better eye and 20/30 in the lesser eye

You can get more details about these requirements at http://www.bellevuewa.gov/police-entry-level-positions.htm.

Conclusion

You can ensure your acceptance in the academy if you really know how to prepare for the police academy. And to do this, you can get the help you need from www.PrepareForThePoliceAcademy.com.

With the study guide and physical fitness tips that you can get from this website, you will be on your way to successfully passing all the exams that will be given during the application process. It is very important for you to really prepare yourself, mentally, as well as physically, so that you can increase your chances of getting accepted into the academy.

West Virginia Police Officer Requirments

wv-state-troopers

It is disheartening to note that there is an upward trend in the crime rate in West Virginia. This fact is based on data gathered in the last 11 years.

For 2014, the crime rate in West Virginia is expected to be higher than in 2010. In that year, the crime rate in West Virginia was lower than the national average by 21.6%. Likewise, state property crime was also lower by 22.28% than the national average. This emphasizes the fact that, now more than ever, the need for reliable police officers is crucial in controlling the rising crime rate in this state.

West Virginia Law Enforcement Certification Standards

The police departments in West Virginia have their own set of requirements for new recruits. However, they all have a number of common police academy requirements in West Virginia. You need to satisfy the following requirements if you are going to be accepted in the academy.

  • Must be at least 21 years of age and no more than 39 years of age prior to enlistment. You may be 20 at the date of test, but you have to be 21 prior to your enlistment date.
  • Must have a valid driver’s license.
  • Must have proof of residency of two years prior to applying in the academy.
  • Must have a high school diploma or GED. College credits are not required.
  • Must have no felony convictions.
  • Must be registered with the Selective Service if male aged 18 to 25.

Physical Fitness Standards

There are several physical fitness tests standards that you must also undergo for you to be accepted in the academy.

  • Must complete 27 properly executed push-ups within one minute. This is designed to measure your upper body muscular endurance and absolute strength.
  • Must complete 29 properly executed sit-ups within one minute. This is designed to determine your abdominal muscular endurance.
  • Must be able to complete the 1.5 mile run within 14 minutes, 52 seconds. This is designed to measure your cardiovascular capacity.

Charleston Police Department

Working in the Charleston Police Department at the completion of your training will enable you to earn an average of $34,000. However, aside from the state requirements, you also need to pass the following qualifications:

  • Must pass a written exam. The set of examinations consists of vocabulary, reading comprehension, spelling, language, number operations and problem solving.
  • Thorough background investigation
  • Oral interview
  • Driver record check
  • Criminal record check
  • Employment history
  • Polygraph test
  • Neighborhood check
  • Psychological screening
  • Physical and medical exam

More details can be had at http://www.charlestonwvpolice.org/Pages/hiring.htm.

Huntington Police Department

Your starting salary in this police department is $36,228. But you have to satisfy their requirements aside from that of the state.

For more details, you can visit http://www.hpdrecruit.com/index.html.

Parkersburg Police department

If you will join this police department, you can expect an annual salary of $44,947. But before you can join their police force, you must also satisfy the following requirements.

  • Must pass the Physical Ability Test. You will be asked to do 27 sit-ups in one minute, 18 push-ups in one minute and do a 1.5 mile run in 15 minutes and 20 seconds at the maximum.

If you want more information, just visit their website at http://pkbpolice.com/wp/recruitment.

Morgantown Police Department

The average salary of a police officer in this police department is $46,950. That is, if you will be able to pass their additional requirements (apart from those listed by the state of West Virginia) which are the following:

  • You must establish a permanent residence within a 15 nautical mile radius of Spruce Street, Morgantown, WV.
  • You must successfully complete and pass all the mandatory examinations that the PD will give you.
  • Preference points will be given to former members of the military as per WV Code 6-13-1.

You can get more details about their recruitment process at http://www.morgantownwv.gov/job-openings-police-officer-applicants-sought/.

Wheeling Police department

If you will join the Wheeling Police Department after graduating from the academy, you can expect an annual salary of $47,940. But aside from the state qualifications that you must satisfy, they are also requiring you to pass the following requirements:

  • Must have no convictions for the following criminal offenses: domestic assault or domestic battery, DUI or any felony.
  • Must be a bona fide resident of the City, Ohio County or approved area in Brooke and Marshall Counties.
  • Veterans and women are encouraged to apply so long as they fulfill all the standard requirements.

Conclusion

If you know how to prepare for the police academy in West Virginia, your chances of being accepted will definitely increase. In this regard, you will need ample help in your preparation, especially with regards to physical fitness. You need to be physically fit, not just mentally prepared, because this is your ticket to the academy. No matter how high your written exams are, if you fail your physical fitness tests, you won’t be accepted at the academy.

It would help your cause if you visit www.PrepareForThePoliceAcademy.com. On this website, you will learn how to improve your fitness. Their study guide can help you ace all your exams; from the physical fitness tests to all the written exams that you will be required to take. You should not even think of applying to become a cop in West Virginian without first seeing this study guide.

Wisconsin Police Officer Requirements

wi-police

Wisconsin is fortunate because crime statistics in this state shows a downward trend in crime based data from 11 years when violent crime and property crime were increasing. From the data gathered from the report, Wisconsin’s crime rate in 2014 is expected to be lower than in 2010.

At that time, the crime rate in Wisconsin’s lower than the average national violent crime rate by 41.34% and the state property crime rate was higher than the national average by 1.03%. But we cannot dispense of the vital services of police officers because without them, it is easy for the crime rate to rise again.

 Wisconsin Law Enforcement Certification Standards

The police academy requirements in Wisconsin are designed so that only police officers of high standards will be produced. Aside from these requirements the five police departments we’ve included here also have their own respective criteria for those who want to join their ranks.

In any case, here are the most basic requirements:

  • Must possess a valid driver’s license or be eligible for a WI Driver’s license.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age. A birth or naturalization certificate should be ready for it may be required for authentication.
  • Must have no federal felony convictions or any offense, unless the applicant has been granted an absolute or unconditional pardon.
  • Must have a Wisconsin high school diploma by an accredited educational institution, or have passed the GED (general education development) test or any other test recommended by the Wisconsin department of public instruction.
  • Must possess a 2 year associate degree from a Wisconsin technical college or its accredited equivalent or a minimum of 60 fully accredited college credit units – if applicant wants employment as a tribal law enforcement officer.
  • Must be of good moral character.
  • Must be free from any physical, emotional or mental condition which might affect the performance of his duties as a police officer.
  • Must have a background investigation conducted by or on behalf of an employer.
  • Must complete a personal medical history to be submitted to an examining physician.

Physical Fitness Standards

As part of the pre-qualification process, you will be asked to undergo a series of physical fitness tests. The results will give them an idea if you can take the physical demands of a police officer’s job.

Their physical fitness test standards consist of seven events.

  1. One rep maximum (1 RM) bench press
  2. Vertical jump
  3. One minute sit up
  4. One minute push up
  5. Maximum pull up
  6. 1.5 mile run
  7. 300 meter run

Milwaukee Police Department

Becoming a police officer in Milwaukee has its perks. For one, the pay is really good. The starting salary of a police officer in the Milwaukee Police Department is $42,561 and higher.

In addition to the state qualifications, you also need to meet the following requirements:

  • Must be a resident of Milwaukee within six months of appointment and throughout employment.
  • Must be honorably discharged if coming from the military.
  • Must have no misdemeanor crime of domestic violence conviction.
  • Must pass a thorough background check within the last two years from the date of application.

For more details regarding their recruitment process, you can visit http://city.milwaukee.gov/.

Madison Police department

If you will join the ranks of police officers in the Madison Police Department, you can expect a $$45,671 starting salary with a raise in 6 months around $50,000. But aside from state qualifications, you also have to satisfy their minimum requirements.

  • Must meet their occupation health standard.
  • Must have no felony convictions (unless pardoned by the Governor of the State).
  • Must have no domestic violence conviction.
  • Must have no conviction record or pending charge which substantially relates to the work of a police officer.
  • Must have a two-year associate degree or sixty credits from an accredited college at the time of hiring, or meet this requirement within five years.

You can get additional details about this at http://www.cityofmadison.com/Police/joinTeam/applicant.cfm.

Green Bay Police department

The average salary of a police officer in the Green Bay Police Department is $48,417. This is an attractive remuneration but you need to meet their minimum qualifications first, alongside the requirements of the state.

  • Must be willing to submit to a background check administered by the Green Bay Police Department.
  • Must have no felony arrests or convictions.
  • Must have an associate degree in Police Science or a Bachelor’s Degree from an accredited college or university.
  • There is no residency required.
  • Must pass a written exam, a polygraph test, physical agility test, psychological exam, drug test and oral interviews.

For further information, visit http://www.gbpolice.org/?page_id=372.

Kenosha Police department

You can join the ranks of police officers in this department where you can expect to get a starting salary of $51,084. However, aside from the state qualifications, you need to satisfy their requirements.

  • Must be able to speak and understand the English language.
  • Must have completed a two year associate degree or a minimum of 60 fully accredited college level credits within 5 years of the date of hire
  • Must have no physical, mental or emotional conditions which could adversely affect ability to perform the essential duties of a police officer.
  • Must meet the vision standard set by the City.
  • Must be able to meet residency requirement.
  • Must have no loss of hearing within normal voice range.

If you want more information, just visit http://www.theblueline.com/feature/WIkenosha5.html.

Racine Police department

Your salary, if accepted as a police officer in the Racine Police Department is $49,175. But first, you need to meet their minimum requirements, on top of those required by the state.

  • Must pass their physical fitness tests, as well as mental evaluation exercises.
  • It is recommended that you request to go for a ride-a-long in order to evaluate if this is the right job for you.
  • There are departments that require/offer sponsorships, and will pay your salary during your free training. If not, you will pay for your academy training.
  • Must undergo a background check.
  • Must have no excessive traffic citations, and past criminal offenses.
  • A 4 year degree is highly recommended, and often required.

You can get further details about their recruitment process at http://www.police-depts.com/wi/racine/racine-police-department.

Conclusion

Your acceptance in the police academy will not only be based on your mental capacity, but also your physical fitness. Even if you pass all their written exams but you don’t know how to prepare for the police academy fitness tests, you might not be able to meet their physical standards.

The best way to physically prepare yourself is to visit the website www.PrepareForThePoliceAcademy.com. This website offers you a study guide which you can use to effectively ace all your physical and written exams.

Virginia Police Officer Requirements

Virginia has experienced a decrease in both violent and property crimes in 2013. The report was based on the annual statewide crime report released by the Virginia State Police. However, although violent crime, vehicle theft, and property crime has declined, the homicide rate remains the same as last year’s.

The demand for police officers in Virginia is still high. This is especially true now since drug offenses showed an increase of 3.8 per cent, for the fourth year and fraud offenses also increased by 7.6 per cent.

Virginia Law Enforcement Certification Standards

As in every state in the Union, Virginia has certain rules of admission that you must follow. You must satisfy these police academy requirements in Virginia if you want to qualify for training.

  • Must be at least 21 years old on date of hire
  • Must be a high school graduate or have an equivalency of GED (college and/or related experience preferred)
  • Must be a United States citizen on date of testing
  • Must be of good moral character and reputation as established by a background investigation
  • Must have a valid driver’s license and a good driving record
  • Must be willing to relocate anywhere based on department needs
  • Must successfully pass all pre-employment testing

Physical Fitness Standards

You must also satisfy the preliminary physical fitness test standards of the state of Virginia. The physical requirement includes:

  • 20/20 binocular vision, corrected or uncorrected, and if uncorrected visual acuity is 20/100 or better binocular and 20/200 or better in worse eye.
  • Must meet minimum requirements for color vision test with or without corrected lenses.
  • Must be capable of hearing normal frequencies of 500, 1000, 2000, and 3000 hertz at a pure tone level of 25 decibels or less and no greater than 45 decibels at 4000 and 6000 hertz when checked by the Audiometer test
  • Must have weight that is proportionate to height

Work Performance Testing

The Virginia State Police Recruitment Staff will administer the Work Performance Test to all applicants. In this test, you will be required to run a 150-yard course. This will determine your cardiovascular fitness in the completion of various job related physical skills.

You will be required to successfully complete ten (10) obstacles in succession with a pass/fail time limit of 1 minute and 36 seconds.  You must complete all events in the specified sequence or you will fail the course. If you fail, you are allowed to take the test one additional time.

Virginia Beach Police Department

The starting pay for a police officer recruit in Virginia Beach Police Department is $35,554. This is slightly higher than other police departments in the state therefore this police department is a good place to put your focus on.

But aside from the state requirements, you must meet the following basic qualifications if you are to be considered for the position:

  • Eligible for Virginia or North Carolina driver’s license
  • No experience required
  • Successful completion of written exam
  • Successful completion of a polygraph test and thorough background investigation

This police department accepts online application from candidates on an ongoing basis. Monthly testing is conducted in Virginia Beach, VA. You can take the test one full year prior to your employment. You can get more details at http://www.theblueline.com/feature/VAvirginiabeach1.html.

Norfolk Police Department

Norfolk Police Department also has an attractive salary package for starting police officer. You can get $30,391 as starting salary. At present, there are about 767 sworn officers in this PD.

But aside from the state qualifications, you must meet their requirements before you are considered. These requirements include:

  • Must be 20 years and six months when the classes at the academy begins
  • Must have military service (if a veteran) and must show proof of an honorable discharge
  • Must have a valid motor vehicle operator’s license and the ability to qualify for a Virginia Division of Motor Vehicle Operator’s License. Your right to drive a vehicle should not be under suspension

If you want more details, you can visit http://www.theblueline.com/feature/VAnorfolk.html.

Chesapeake Police Department

You may also consider joining the police force of the Chesapeake Police Department. The salary that you’ll be getting while attending the academy is now $37,494. But you must satisfy the following basic requirements apart from the state qualifications:

  • Must have no felony convictions, or any convictions involving acts of domestic violence, dishonesty or immorality
  • Must pass a physical fitness test

For more details, you can visit http://www.cityofchesapeake.net

Richmond Police Department

Another police force that gives their officers a good salary package is Richmond Police Department. Your starting salary if accepted in their ranks is $32,695. They have 650 sworn officers at present. Aside from the state qualifications, their basic requirements for acceptance in their ranks are the following:

  • No DUI convictions in the past 5 years
  • Must pass a written and physical agility test
  • Must pass a thorough background check, including a polygraph test, psychological test, medical test, and drug screening
  • Must have no felony convictions or domestic assault convictions

For more information, you can visit http://www.ci.richmond.va.us/police/PoliceRecruit.aspx.

Newport News Police Department

If you will be accepted in this department, you will get an annual salary of around $37,000. But aside from the state requirements, you must first satisfy their basic qualifications which are the following:

  • Military service (including Reserves or National Guard) must present a DD-214 in addition to copies of performance evaluation for 3 years. Must be honorably discharged.
  • Must have no felony convictions or any Class I or Class II criminal misdemeanors.
  • No drug convictions for the past 15 years
  • No tattoos, brands or other body art on the head, face, neck or scalp.

Conclusion

You must also be physical fit on the day of your physical fitness exams. Even if you pass all your written exams and all your psychological exams, you cannot be accepted if you fail their fitness tests. There’s a website that will show you how to prepare for the police academy in this regard. You need to visit www.PrepareForThePoliceAcademy.com if you want to pass all the agility, and physical fitness tests that they will give you.

Texas Police Officer Requirements

policeintx

The state of Texas is home to great music and great sports teams, and it also has a rich history. However, it’s not all bright and sunny in this southern state as the crime rate is expected to go up for the rest of 2014. In fact the latest figures show that the violent crime rate in the state was 35% higher than the national rate in 2010, and only went down a bit in 2014. For this reason, police departments there are always looking for potential police officers.   

Texas Law Enforcement Certification Standards

The application requirements for police officers in Texas have to be met by every candidate, and anyone who wishes to apply has to make sure that they bring along all the proper documents as well. Unless specified otherwise by the department you are applying for, these police academy requirements in Texas apply.

  • A US citizen
  • At least 21 years of age
  • No criminal record
  • Must possess a valid Texas driver’s license
  • Have a high school diploma or GED
  • Must possess good moral character

Physical Fitness Standards

Aside from the requirements mentioned, applicants also have to undergo a physical examination and if they are eligible, go through the intensive physical training program. The physical fitness test standards were developed to make sure that all police officers possess the physical abilities that are required of them. These include;

  • A 1.5 mile run in at least 13 minutes
  • A vertical jump not less than 17 inches
  • Sit ups and push ups
  • A 300 meter sprint
  • Lifting or dragging heavy objects or dummies

Those are just the basic requirements for a physical training program, and more may be included depending on what position you are training for. Apart from running and sprinting, there might be several cardiovascular exercises included as well as scenarios that will test your self-defense, as well as handle “real life” situations that call for physical action and exertion on your part.

Houston Police Department

The Houston Police Department application process is divided into seven phases. The first phase requires you to submit all the required documents and phase two, pass the reading comprehension test. Phase three is the physical agility test, while phase four is the polygraph exam and final interview.

If you pass those phases you will proceed to phase five where you are subjected to a background test, and at phase six you will undergo the medical and physical exam. Phase seven will conclude with a final review and get approval from the Houston police chief.

San Antonio Police Department

The San Antonio Police Department has requirements similar to what the state has set down, but with a few notable exceptions. The minimum age here is 20 years and 6 months, and you cannot be more than 45 years old. A high school diploma or GED is acceptable, but if you obtained GED, a minimum of 12 completed hours from a college or university is required.

The academic training is 33 weeks long, and the physical training lasts 12 weeks. During this period you’ll go through two-hour physical training, do CrossFit workouts and take part in running regimens. Members of the SAPD will also learn defensive tactics, life saving skills and how to drive emergency vehicles.

Dallas Police Department

The Dallas Police Department also has similar requirements for applicants just like the state, but with some important differences. The minimum age requirement is 19 years if you have 60 hours from an accredited university or college, and a minimum 20/100 vision rating is necessary.

Just like the other police departments, a polygraph test is required. In addition, applicants need to have a minimum vertical jump of 6.5 inches and can do at least 14 sit ups in a minute. Candidates also need to do a bench press of 56% of their body weight and do a 300 meter run in 110 seconds. This run, it has to be noted, is in addition to the 1.5 mile run that you have to complete in 19 seconds.

Austin Police Department

The Austin Police Department also follows the state guidelines for recruiting police officers, and applicants must also pass the stringent written exam before they can proceed any further. However, those who pass will receive several benefits including a starting salary of $33,334.00, and it does not even include the extra pay incentives. For instance, the Austin Police Department offers long term disability benefits for officers as well as holiday leave, 40 hour emergency leave, tuition reimbursement and eye and dental plans.

Fort Worth Police Department

The requirements at the Fort Worth Police Department are the same as those of the state with a few differences. The age requirement is between 21 to 44 years, and you are required to live within 30 minutes from the police station where you will be reporting. You also have to go through the written, psychological and medical examination before youcan be considered for the academy. All candidates are also required to pass the PAT (physical assessment test), which actually consists of an obstacle course.

Conclusion

Regardless which of the police departments mentioned above you choose, getting accepted is very difficult unless you know how to prepare for the police academy. The process is complicated, and not only are the tests difficult, but getting started is enough to intimidate most applicants.

The ideal solution is to use a manual like Prepare for the Police Academy, as it is a complete and comprehensive guide to the entire process. What makes this guide different from others is the fact that it was prepared and written by someone who knows what it’s like to go through the academy, and knows how to go through it successfully. There are a lot of topics covered in the book, including reviews of the exams as well as details concerning the courses that are tackled in the training program.

Oregon Police Officer Requirements

policeoregon

Would you like to join the Oregon State police? Do you dream of becoming part of the Hillsboro police department or any of the cities in Oregon? Then you should know the police academy requirements in the state Oregon, as well as the application process.

Requirements

In order to qualify for the police academy in Oregon, you should meet several prerequisites like having a US citizenship and at least a high school diploma. You need to be at least 21 years of age, and possess a valid driver’s license.  You should have no felony convictions, misdemeanor conviction within the past five years, and conviction for major traffic violation.

If you meet all the requirements, you can submit your application online by clicking here.

As in all police departments in the United States, the Oregon police department is very strict when it comes to the accuracy of information provided by applicants. You should be truthful in responding to all application queries, and you should never withhold pertinent information.

Application for cops in Oregon is now done online, and paper applications are no longer accepted. Since the application is done online, you should have an e-mail address as updates like application status and testing dates will be sent electronically.

The recruitment process is quite lengthy, as there are numerous tests that you have to pass in order to get accepted into the academy. The entry level test includes physical ability test, written examination, panel interview, and psychological assessment.

Physical Ability Test

Since cops are expected to maintain peace and order in the community, take part in emergency operations, and report to work regardless of weather conditions, physical fitness is a major consideration in screening applicants. If you want to become part of the Portland police department or Eugene police department, then you have to train hard for the physical ability test.

The physical ability exam comprises of three tests—a one-minute sit-up, a one-minute push-up, and a two-mile run. However, before you think that the physical is easy, be reminded that there are minimum scores you have to achieve in doing the tests depending on your age. For example, you are required to have at least 53 repetitions in the one-minute sit-up if you are man between the ages of 17 to 21 years old.

Keep in mind that if you fail in any of the three tests, you will be automatically disqualified. Thus you should train hard for the physical ability exam by training hard at least six weeks before your schedule. Work on your chest, shoulders, arms, and legs by engaging in various exercises.

The physical ability test will gauge if you have the cardiovascular endurance, flexibility, aerobic capacity and muscular strength, amongst others, to perform the duties of a police officer in Oregon.

As many unsuccessful applicants found out, the physical ability test for prospective cops in Oregon is no joke. Fail the test and your dreams of getting into the academy are immediately thrown out of the window. You should invest in the “Prepare Yourself for the Academy” guide here.

This guide will teach you everything you know about the police application process. Learn how to train for the physical ability test by reading this guide. You can also get more tips on how to pass the other parts of the recruitment like the written test and the panel interview.

Written Test

Once you have successfully passed the physical ability test, you will then take the written test. Whether you want to be part of the Salem police department or the Gresham police department, you should be mentally sharp.

The written test is composed of five parts. These are vocabulary with 20 total questions, as well as spelling which has the same number of queries.  Your spelling skills will also be put to the test with 20 questions, as well as your ability to use the right punctuation marks. Finally, there are also questions to test your mathematical skills and reading comprehension.

You can get more information on the written exam by clicking on this link.

Panel Interview

If you successful pass the physical ability and written tests, then you qualify to the next phase of the recruitment process which is the panel interview or oral board interview. The interviewers will be asking questions designed to determine your competency as a potential cop. As in other parts of the screening process you need to pass this interview if you want to get admitted into the police academy.

Once you pass the oral board interview, you will be subjected to the pre-offer psychological exam. This part of the recruitment process assesses whether you are psychologically suited for a career in the law enforcement field. There are two written psychological tests employed in this phase—the California Psychological Inventory, and the other is the Personal History Questionnaire.  The test results are evaluated by licensed psychologists.

Screening and Background Investigation

Integrity is important in the police ranks, and your integrity will be scrutinized in the screening and background investigation phases. In the screening phase, you will be asked for documents and personal history information such as your previous employment, credit card history, and educational background.

All the pieces of information that you provided will be verified by an investigator, who will interview your family members, neighbors, friends, and former coworkers. Should the investigator have an adverse finding, like you lying about your personal history, your application will be dropped.

You will then be scheduled for an interview, this time with the police commanders consisting of captains and majors. The interview lasts typically 30 minutes, with behavioral based questions usually being asked.

It is in this point of the hiring process that you’ll learn if you will be given a conditional job offer. If you are not lucky, the panel can give tips and advice on how to improve your performance in case you decide to re-apply in the future.

You may be presented with a conditional job offer pending other requirements like medical screening, psychological evaluation and availability of a pre-academy class

PA Police Officer Requirements

Do you want to become a cop in Pennsylvania? If so, then you must familiarize yourself with the requirements. You should also prepare yourself for the lengthy and stringent application process, which will test not only your mental and psychological capacity but also your physical abilities.

But the rewards of passing these exams and getting admitted into the police academy are substantial, with a satisfying take-home pay and generous benefits awaiting you.

The starting pay of cops in Pennsylvania are quite attractive. For instance, new members of Erie police department receive an annual salary of $36,987 with the pay increasing to $62,261 after three years. New cops in the Philadelphia police department receive an annual pay of $46,783 with increases that will reach $60,759 a year in a few years.

Meanwhile, new members of the Pittsburgh police department receive an annual salary of $40,896. If you join the Allentown police department, your annual salary is $46,856.  However, if you are assigned to the Reading police department, your average annual salary is $23,000.

Requirements

You should meet all of the general requirements in order to get to the first phase of the application process. These requirements include an age requirement of at least 20 years but not more than 40 years of age. You should also be a U.S. citizen and must have a valid driver’s license.  You also need to be at holder of at least a high school diploma.

In Reading, you also have to pay a non-refundable application fee of $50. You can find more info on the application process by clicking this link.

To find out more about the general requirements, related documents and the factors that can merit automatic disqualification, click this link.

Physical Ability Test

The physical ability test will test your muscular strength and endurance, cardiovascular endurance, and flexibility. Keep in mind that in case you get admitted as a police, there is a high likelihood you’ll find yourself running after or even exchanging blows with criminals.

In Pennsylvania, the standard physical ability test includes a vertical jump wherein you should register at least 14 inches, Illinois agility run that should be completed in 23.5 seconds or less, and a 300-meter run that should be finished in 77 seconds or less. You would also have to complete 13 repetitions of push-ups and complete a 1.5 mile run in less than 17 minutes and 48 seconds.

You should pass all tests in order to get to the next phase of the screening process, which is the written examination. Failing in any of the test automatically disqualifies you. Because of the backbreaking challenges posed by the physical ability test, many aspiring cops fail to get pass this phase of the recruitment.

If you are not physically fit, there’s no way you’d hurdle this test. Some experts suggest that you should at least dedicate six to eight weeks of intense physical activity consisting of exercises like running and swimming for you to get past through this test.

You can get more reliable information on how to pass the physical ability test by subscribing to the “Prepare for the Academy” guide that you can buy from this website. This guide is written by a veteran police officer who also happens to be a strength and conditioning expert. You can learn exercises that you should regularly do from this guide so you can prepare yourself better for the academy.

Qualifying Examination

The qualifying examination is divided into two parts. First is the written examination that is meant to gauge your reading comprehension, vocabulary, mathematical skills, and problem solving abilities.  The other part is the oral examination. The scores on both exams will be added up, and  those who garner the top scores will make up the eligibility list.

Should you make it this far, you’ll then invited to the physical readiness processing. This is a one-day event that the Pennsylvania State Police will set for the submission of completed processing packet as well as conduct of physical readiness tests. You’ll also complete various forms and the polygraph screening booklet.

Afterwards, a polygraph test will be scheduled to verify the accuracy of all the information that you have given throughout the recruitment process. The polygraph screening booklet you accomplished will be forwarded to polygraph examiners who will then contact you for the actual test.

Background Investigation

You’ll then be subjected to a background investigation after you have been cleared by the polygraph review committee. The background investigation component will be exhaustive, with the investigators talking with your family members, friends, colleagues, former employers, and neighbors. The focus of the investigation will not only be on your personal background but also previous employment, legal or criminal history, credit records, and character references.

The investigation will be extensive. In case you have lived out of Pennsylvania for quite some time, the investigators will cooperate with other law enforcement bodies in areas where you lived to verify that all the information you shared are true and accurate.

Medical and Psychological Assessment

If you have been ruled eligible by the background investigation panel then you’ll be scheduled for a medical and psychological processing. The letter invitation includes a processing packet that has all the instructions you’ll need to complete the medical documentation and tests you have to go through. This includes urinalysis drug screening. The medical documentation you provided will be reviewed by a medical officer employed by the state police.

You also have to go through psychological tests as administered by a licensed psychologist.

Appointment

After passing the medical and psychological tests, you’ll be eligible for an appointment subject to the availability of a police academy class. Usually, the appointment letter is issued three weeks before the start of the class. However, you may have to wait for an appointment if there is a limit to the size of the class. In that case, your name will remain on the eligibility list and you can expect an offer of appointment for the subsequent class.

Oklahoma Police Officer Requirements

okpolice

Becoming a police officer in Oklahoma can give you a stable career, decent pay and lots of perks and benefits. Getting accepted into a police academy in Oklahoma, however, is a tough task that you have to prepare well for. But before even thinking of entering the police academy, you should first familiarize yourself with the police academy requirements in Oklahoma.

You should be a U.S. citizen with a valid driver’s license and of good moral character. You should be between 21 to 45 years old. You also need to hold at least a high school diploma.

Aside from these requirements, you need to be in excellent physical condition. You must not have had any felony convictions as well. If you meet all of these requirements, proceed to the police department headquarters. If you pass the initial screening, you will go through a physical ability test and written examination.

If you want to join the Norman police department, learn more about their requirements by clicking this.  If it is the Oklahoma police department that you’d like to be a part of, learn more about the recruitment process by clicking here.

Physical Ability Test

The physical ability test is one of the distinguishing aspects that sets the police enlistment process apart from the recruitment system in other fields.  In Oklahoma, the physical test usually comprises of a 1.5 mile run which should be completed in 15 minutes, 20 seconds or less. You also have to do 27 repetitions of sit-ups in one minute, make 18 push-ups in the same amount of time, and complete a 300-meter run in one minute and 18 seconds.

You have to pass all of these tests in order to get to the next phase of the recruitment process. It is thus important that you prepare hard for the physical ability test by regularly working out. Your work-out regimen should focus on strengthening your shoulders, chest and arms. You also need to improve your cardiovascular system by engaging in activities like running and swimming.

If you are not a health buff, then you might have difficulty in measuring up to the physical fitness test standards. You should train for at least six weeks in order to prepare yourself for this part of the recruitment process. Build up your cardiorespiratory endurance, muscular endurance, and improve your upper body strength if you really wish to join the police force.

You can get more tips on how to prepare for the police academy particularly the grueling physical ability test by reading the “Prepare for the Police Academy” guide that you can order from here.

This guide will teach you how to train for the physical ability test and enhance your chances of getting admitted into the police academy. It will also teach you how to prepare for the other aspects of the recruitment process like the written examinations and panel interview.

Written Examinations

The written exam usually covers areas like vocabulary, grammar, spelling, mathematics, problem solving, and reading comprehension. In the Oklahoma City aptitude test, a minimum score of 70 is required for you to pass the examination. The test covers five areas with the following percentages: 20 for visual memory, 25 percent for vocabulary and word usage, 20 for reading comprehension, 25 for basic mathematics, and 10 for logic.

In case you plan to join the Tulsa police department, you can find a sample written exam here.

If you pass the written exam, then you’ll proceed to the next phase of the application which is the personal history statement. You will be required to submit requirements like college or high school transcript, original birth certificate, copy of marriage license, applicant stability rating procedure, amongst others. After submitting all the required papers, you’ll be scheduled for a personality assessment.

Personality Investment

The personality investment includes personality assessment such as the California Personality Inventory which predicts your tendency to show criminal delinquency. The inventory also reflects the applicant’s personal integrity and social maturity.

Your answers to the personality investment will be evaluated through a polygraph test. This is to verify if you are telling the truth.

Background Investigation

Should you pass the preceding tests, you’ll be subjected to a comprehensive background investigation. The investigators will conduct background interviews with your family members, neighbors, friends, colleagues, and past employers. The investigators will check all the information that you have relayed throughout the application process. If you been lying about what seems to be a very miniscule detail, then the investigator will eventually find out about this and you’ll be disqualified immediately.

Should you pass the background investigation, you’ll move forward to the next step which is the interview with the Employment Assessment Board. The chief responsibility of the board is to assess your qualities, characteristics, and skills and whether you are fit to work as a cop in Oklahoma.

Final Selection

The chief of police in the area you are applying in will select the applicants who will attend the police academy. But before you get selected, you should also complete the medical examination, psychological evaluation and drug tests.

When you are accepted into the academy, you’ll be training for around 28 weeks. You’ll get uniform, equipment, and salary. There will be numerous subjects that you’ll take during this period, such as criminal law, firearms training, first aid, self-defense, police community relations, and principles of investigation. You’ll also learn how to operate and maneuver a vehicle during emergencies and how to relate with minorities.

Upon entry into the academy, the annual pay you’ll get is approximately $42,908. This translates to a pay of $20.55 per hour. But once you have completed the required one-year probation, you’ll get a raise with your hourly compensation pegged at $23.31. You’ll also be entitled to uniform allowance, longevity pay and college incentive pay.

Whether you intend to join the Broken Arrow police department or Lawton police department, you’ll be in for a tough recruitment process. Prepare yourself for the grueling application process by learning tricks from “Prepare for the Police Academy” guide.

Ohio Police Officer Requirements

Ohio is #6 in the country in robberies and #7 in burglaries. You can help stop this distressing trend by being a cop in Ohio.  To do that, you need to be a US citizen, 21 years old, and have no felony convictions.

You will also have to go through an application process that involves either a written exam or a Civil Service exam, an interview, a physical agility test, a background investigation that may involve a polygraph test, a medical, psych, and personality assessment, and a drug screen.

The police academy requirements in Ohio may have some differences depending on the police department and some may have additional requirements. There may be different physical fitness test standards as well.

Columbus Police Department

In Columbus, you can be 21 years old when you apply as long as you’re 21 by the time of your appointment to the force, and you’ll also need a valid driver’s license. You can check the Columbus Police Department website for any news regarding any available positions inside the police department.

The application process is very typical, and the Civil Service Test will be part of the process. This will include a physical fitness test that will score you according to how fast you can run 300 meters, how many sit-ups you can do in 1 minute, and how many pushups you can perform. Your medical test will also check your vision and hearing, and will also include a cardiovascular stress test.

Cleveland Police Department

To be a cop in Cleveland you need to be 21 at the time of your Civil Service exam, and you also can’t have any domestic violence conviction or a number of misdemeanors on your record. You also need a valid Ohio driver’s license. The application process is the usual mix of Civil service exam, interviews, a drug screen, and medical and psych tests. Your background will of course be checked as well, and you will also need to pass a physical agility test. Your personality will be assessed as well.

The physical agility test is based on the physical fitness requirements of the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy standards. The Police Academy training will last 26 weeks, and during this time you need to maintain at least a 70% grade. You will also have to pass a State of Ohio written exam with a grade of 70%.

Cincinnati Police Department

You can apply to the Cincinnati PD if you have a valid driver’s license for at least a year, and even if you are still in the process of applying for US citizenship. You can’t have any misdemeanors within 5 years of your application. Using drugs (except marijuana) or having a drug conviction (including marijuana) will also be grounds for disqualification. Other crimes on your record which can disqualify you includes sexual offenses, assault, gun control ordinance violations, or serious driving violations. There is also a long list of other offences which can disqualify you.

There’s no civil service exam, but you have to take a written exam that covers a wide range of skills and abilities.

The physical fitness standards you need to meet are the following:

  • 15 proper sit-ups in 1 minute
  • 15 proper pushups in 1 minute
  • 5 minutes to complete a half-mile run.

Toledo Police Department

You should be at least 20 years old, but you can’t be more than 35 years old if you want to be a Toledo cop. You can check the recruitment page of the Toledo Police Department website for news regarding openings, and if the department isn’t currently hiring you can submit an interest card to the department so you will be notified when recruitment begins again.

You will need to pass the civil service exam along with all the medical tests, interviews and background checks. The physical ability examination will include a timed 1.5-mile run and the number of one-minute pushups and sit-ups you can do will also be noted.

Akron Police Department

To be an Akron police officer, you can’t be more than 31 years old. Your hearing and vision should adhere to Civil Service Commission standards. Your valid driver’s license should also not have more than 5 points on your driving record.

You can only apply when there are posted positions at the Akron Police Department. You will also need to pass the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) physical fitness standards. This is a tough standard, since males who are 29 years old or younger have to do 40 sit-ups in a minute, 33 pushups in a minute, and complete a mile and a half run in 11 minutes and 58 seconds. Guys in the 30 to 39 years old age bracket need to do 36 sit-ups 27 pushups, and 12:25 on the 1.5 mile run. Even the women have it tough, as those who are 29 years old or younger have to be able to do 35 sit-ups, 18 pushups, and 14:15 on the 1.5-mile run.

Conclusion

In many police department websites, you can download some study guides that can help you prepare better for some of the tests you will have to take. But these studies guides, however, are not complete, and often they may lack crucial information. For example, you may be told that there is no way you can prepare for a psychological evaluation.

Your best bet is to supplement these study guides with the excellent Prepare for the Police Academy review manual that was written by an actual cop who actually experienced these tests himself. The author is not just a cop, but a cop with a degree in psychology who can help you learn how to prepare for the police academy through proper studying techniques.

The author is also a strength and conditioning expert as well as a certified personal instructor, and you can learn valuable tips on how to ace the often seemingly impossible physical fitness tests.

NC Police Officer Requirements

swatnc

If you are a cop in North Carolina, one of your main priorities would be trying to stop burglaries. While the state is actually somewhat average in other types of crimes, when it comes burglaries North Carolina has the second highest rate in the country with 1,108.5 burglaries per 100,000 people.

You can be a police officer by fulfilling the police academy requirements in North Carolina. Typically, this means that you have to be a US citizen, 21 years old, no felony on your record, and have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

The application process is also very similar throughout the state. You’ll need to submit all your documentation, take a written exam and an interview, have your background checked, undergo a polygraph test, pass a medical exam and psych evaluation, undergo drug screening, and pass a strenuous physical ability test. You’ll then enter a police academy, where you’ll receive at least the required 604 hours of training.

The order of these tests may differ depending on the police department you join. Some may have additional requirements, and they may have different physical fitness test standards as well. However, many police departments in the state follow the North Carolina Police Officer Physical Ability Test (POPAT), which involves running, climbing stairs, going through obstacle courses, sit-ups, pushups, and dragging a dummy.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department

Every quarter, the CMPD posts job openings for police officers. In addition to the typical basic requirements, you also need a valid North Carolina driver’s license, reside in either North or South Carolina, and have no visible tattoos or brandings that you can’t cover up  with a long-sleeve uniform. You also need to be able to read on a 10th grade level, and if you were in the military you must have an honorable discharge.

You will also need to pass the dreaded Job Related Physical Ability Test (JRPAT). You’ll be told a street address at the beginning of the test, and then perform a series of exercises. These exercises include running back and forth 50 feet ten times for a total of 200 yards, and a number of step-ups, pushups, and sit-ups. You’ll then be asked to repeat he street address you were given, and if you cannot recall it you’ll have to repeat the 200-yard run. Your total time for the test must not go over 6 minutes and 18 seconds.

Once you complete and pass the selection process, you can enter the police academy, where you will spend 22 weeks trying to absorb more than 900 hours of training.

Raleigh Police Department

The main extra requirement of the Raleigh PD is that you can’t have any visible body art when you are wearing the department-issued uniform. To apply, you first need to check the upcoming Academy info regarding hiring dates.

The Physical Fitness Test is based on the Cooper’s Institute Guidelines. Once your height and weight have been measured you will then be tested on the following:

  • Bench press
  • Sit-ups (one-minute)
  • Push-ups (one-minute)
  • Vertical jump
  • 1.5-mile run
  • 300-meter run

There are standards for each exercise, depending on your age bracket and gender. You need to score a “fair” or above on the whole test, and if you fail in one part you can compensate by doing much better on another part.

Greensboro Police Department

The typical basic requirements are set forth, along with the condition that you can’t have any felony or serious misdemeanor on your record. You can download the application, but you will have to print and mail it to:

City of Greensboro

Human Resources Department

P.O. Box 3136

300 West Washington Street

Greensboro, NC  27402-3136

Perhaps the most difficult part of the application process is its version of the POPAT, in which you will have to drag a 150-pound dummy through most of the course. When you are able to fulfill all the requirements, you may then get the invitation to attend the Academy for the required 27 weeks, which will be followed by 14 extra weeks of field training.

Durham Police Department

You need to be 21 within 30 days of graduating from the police academy. Your vision and hearing should also be acceptable. You can’t have any felonies or domestic violence conviction, no DUI or serious misdemeanor in the last five years, and no driving suspension in the last 3 years.

Your physical fitness test will count the number of pushups per minute, sit-ups per minute, and the maximum weight you can bench press. You need to run 300 meters in one minute and 22.9 seconds, and run a mile and a half within 17 minutes.

Winston-Salem Police Department

You can be eligible at 20 years old, but no applicant can have a DUI in the last five years. You’ll have to take a written exam to demonstrate you can read at the 10th grade level. Then you have to pass the department’s version of the POPAT at the Alexander R. Beaty Public Safety Training and Support Center. You need to pass both these tests first before you can continue your application process. If you fail the POPAT, you can retake it at the next available date. Fail a second time, and you have to wait for a whole year to pass before you can try again.

Conclusion

Becoming a cop in North Carolina is a great way to serve the community, and competition for the available slots is fierce. You’ll need every advantage you can get, and your best advantage is if you study the Prepare for the Police Academy review manual before you even apply. The entire manual gives extremely helpful tips on how to properly do everything you need to do to become a cop in North Carolina. The author is himself a cop, and he has a psychology degree and certification as a personal trainer. This is the best way to learn how to prepare for the police academy.